Scambles Amongst the Alps

Published January 2022

Published by Apple books

Scrambles Amongst the Alps describes the nine years from 1860 to 1869 that Edward Whymper spent climbing in the Alps. Whymper made dozens of first ascents and acquired a reputation as one of the best in the field of alpine mountaineering. Whymper made seven attempts at summiting mountaineering's Holy Grail of the time - the Matterhorn. He succeeded on his eighth attempt becoming the first to reach its peak. This success came at a terrible cost, as four of his companions fell to their deaths on the descent. It was a tragedy that would cast a shadow over the remainder of his life.

This version of Scrambles Amongst the Alps contains minor modern spelling revisions and a simplification of structure. It is based on the original text by Edward Whymper that is available in the public domain.

Available from:

Scambles Amongst the Alps cover